St. Paul Methodist Episcopal Church, South, was organized in 1855. In 1879, the present hand-made brick building was erected through the generous funding of John H. Ferree and John Banner Randleman. In 1948, St. Paul merged with Naomi Methodist Church to become First Methodist Church. The last religious service was held in 1951 and the church became St. Paul Museum in 1966 under the auspices of the North Randolph Historical Society.
Founded in 1966, the North Randolph Historical Society seeks to ensure the preservation of St. Paul Methodist Episcopal Church and Randolph County’s rich history by collecting, preserving, exhibiting, and interpreting archival materials and physical artifacts associated not only with the history of northern Randolph County, but also with the larger Randolph County community.